2015 Christmas Party and Awards Ceremony

On Saturday, December 12th current and retired members and their families gathered at the station for the
annual Christmas party and awards ceremony. A delicious meal was catered by Pat Phifer a good friend of
the department. After the meal the awards portion of the banquet began with several members receiving
pins for years of service. Firefighter Jonathan Durham and Lieutenant Jay Moore received pins for 10 years
of service. Lieutenant Daniel Robinson received a pin for 15 years of service. The pin for 20 years of
service was given to Deputy Chief Tim Moore. Firefighter Chris Smith was awarded a pin for 25 years of
service to the department. All of these individuals have put in many hours of training and service for our
department and the community. We are proud to have so many dedicated and hard-working members in
our department. Without them the services that we provide to our community would not be possible. The
next award that was given out was for Medical Responder of the year. This award was given to Firefighter
Merritt Eaton. Firefighter Eaton completed the qualifications to become a certified medical responder during
2015. He responded to numerous emergency calls and provided effective medical care using the knowledge
that he obtained from class and many hours of training. Firefighter of the year was awarded to Firefighter
Daniel Scruggs. Firefighter Scruggs completed many hours of training and completed all of the requirements
to become a driver operator in our department, getting checked off to drive and pump all of our apparatus
effectively. He also began taking training classes to obtain his Firefighter level II certification. Officer of the
year plaque was given to Assistant Chief James Gray. Chief Gray responded to 215 emergency calls
leading all members in the department. Along with responding calls Chief Gray helps to keep the building
and equipment in proper working shape. He has spent countless hours repairing pieces of equipment and
fixing problems that occur around our facility. He is a huge asset to our department and we are very thankful
for his hard work and dedication to the department. The officers of the department also created a new
award that will be given out each year,
the lifetime membership award will be presented to an individual that
has shown dedication and service to the fire department and also the community and its citizens. This year
the very first lifetime membership award was given to Assistant Chief James Gray. Chief Gray has been an
active member since 1968 and continues to serve the community by responding to emergencies and helping
to maintain the fire station and all of the equipment. After all of the awards and closing remarks from Fire
Chief Artie Watson the
evening ended with door prizes, small gifts and  fellowship.

330 Calls for Service in 2015

29 EMS Assignments       123 Mutual Aid Calls
4 Structure Fires                4 Fire Alarms
9 Traffic Accidents              0 Vehicle Fires   
2 Haz-Mat Assignment       8 Brush/Grass Fires
1 Service Assignments